Pulse.ng logo

Edo Election Obaseki wins governorship polls

Obaseki won in 13 LGAs and defeated Ize-Iyamu of the PDP who came second in the polls.

  • Published:
Godwin Obaseki play

Godwin Obaseki


Godwin Obaseki is the new governor of Edo State.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate has emerged winner after garnering majority of the votes collated by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Thursday, September 29.

According to INEC, Obaseki won in 13 Local Government Areas  and defeated Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who came second in the polls.


The PDP has already rejected the results  after describing them as “fabricated and pre-determined”.

“The result by INEC has confirmed our statement less 48 hours to the election that the Edo State Governor was telling his party members and leaders that they have written the results of the election. Everything the PDP said is playing out,"  Edo PDP Chairman, Dan Orbih said on Thursday, September 29.

Ize-Iyamu has also rejected the results of the elections saying that a lot of manipulation has taken place.

“The Figures being announced by INEC do not represent the massive turnout. We have told our agents to bring all the results issued at the polling units. We do not want to rely on the messages they sent," he said.

The APC, in response described the PDP as a group of sore losers who should not expect to win elections in a state they ran down.

“This is just a case of a bad loser. It is a pity that the PDP expects to win in a state which it had run down,”Edo APC Chairman, Anselm Ojezua said.

INEC's final count shows that Obaseki won 319,483 votes as against the 253, 173 votes garnered by Ize-Iyamu.

ALSO READAPC planning to manipulate results at midnight - PDP

Current governor, Adams Oshiomhole, an APC member, had earlier celebrated the conduct of the election saying that it was a sign that democracy had come to stay in the state.

See collated results for all LGAs below:

Owan West: APC: 12,862, PDP: 10,132

Egor APC: 26,177 PDP: 19,514

Esan North East APC: 9,130 PDP: 16,220

Igueben APC: 7,802 PDP: 7,560

Uhunmwode APC: 10,911 PDP: 8,667

Esan South East APC: 9,554 PDP: 11,466

Oredo APC: 37,612 PDP: 30,492

Orhionmwon APC: 15,262 PDP: 16,446

Esan West APC 13,114 PDP 16,311

Owan East APC: 21, 233 PDP: 12,889

Ovia North East APC: 17,561 PDP: 13,141

Esan Central APC: 9,781 PDP: 10,180

Etsako East APC: 18,078 PDP: 12,552

Etsako Central APC: 10,373 PDP: 8,827

Etsako West APC: 29,199 PDP: 10,843

Ikpoba-Okha APC: 33,469 PDP: 26,096

Akoko-Edo APC: 24,545 PDP: 13,027

Ovia South-West APC: 12,820 PDP: 8,810


APC: 319,483

PDP: 253,173

Do you think the Edo governorship election was free and fair?»

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.