Pulse.ng logo

Edo Election INEC officially declares Obaseki winner

The announcement of Obaseki's victory was made on September 29 by INEC Returning Officer, Professor Kayode Soremekun.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
APC play

Godwin Obaseki


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Godwin Obaseki as the winner of the Edo state governorship elections.

The announcement was made on Thursday, September 29, by INEC Returning Officer, Professor Kayode Soremekun.

Obaseki won 319,483 votes while Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu won 253, 173 votes placing a gap of 66,310 votes between them.

The results have been rejected by the PDP, which has described them as “fabricated and pre-determined”.

Ize-Iyamu has also refused to accept the results saying that they showed signs of manipulation.

The result collation was marked by protests from PDP members who demonstrated in front of the INEC office and demanded that the exercise be cancelled.

ALSO READAPC planning to manipulate results at midnight - PDP

The PDP’s agent, Chris Agbonwanegbe is said to have refused to sign the result sheet, saying it was “rehearsed and produced”.

Obaseki takes over from incumbent, Adams Oshiomhole, who’s also a member of the APC.

Do you think the Edo governorship election was free and fair?»

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.