Pulse.ng logo

Edo Election Godwin Obaseki's victory greeted by heavy rainfall

Godwin Obeseki of the APC was declared winner of the Edo state governorship election today by INEC.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
APC play

Godwin Obaseki


Godwin Obaseki of the All Progressives Congress (APC) was today declared winner of the Edo state governorship election.

The election took place on Wednesday, September 28, 2016 but collation and announcement of the final result was delayed to Thursday afternon.

The governorship poll which was keenly contested between the APC and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was however characterised by several anomalies.

Obaseki's victory was however greeted by heavy rainfall which started shortly after the APC candidate was declared governor-elect by the Independent National Electoral commission (INEC).

Meanwhile, the PDP has rejected the final result of the election which was announced by INEC.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.