Pulse.ng logo

Buhari President writes Senate to confirm 26 new appointees

The president has asked the national assembly to confirm the appointees.

  • Published:
Buhari writes Senate to confirm 26 new appointees play

President Muhammadu Buhari shakes hands with Senate President Bukola Saraki


President Muhammadu Buhari has written separate letters to the Nigerian Senate requesting the confirmation of 26 new federal  appointees.

During plenary on Tuesday, April 10, 2018, Senate President Bukola Saraki read the letter of request sent by the president for the confirmation of Festus Okoye as National Commissioner for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

According to a report by Premium Times, Senator Saraki read the letter shortly before the adjournment of Tuesday's session.

The letter read, "In accordance with the provision of section 154(1) of the 1999 constitution as amended, I rise to forward to the distinguished senators the name of Barrister Festus Okoye for confirmation as National Commissioner representing South-east geo-political zone.

"While hoping that this request will receive the usual expeditious consideration, please accept Mr President the assurances of my highest regard."

In the other letters, the president requested confirmation for 23 members of National Population Commission and two non-legal practitioners as members of Federal Judicial Service Commission.

The 23 nominees for the National Population Commission are; Nwanne Johnny Nwabuisi (Abia), Dr Clifford Zirra (Adamawa), Chidi Christopher Ezeoke (Anambra), Isa Audu Buratai (Borno), Charles Iyam Ogwa (Cross River), Sir Richard Odibo (Delta), Okereke Darlington Onaubuchi (Ebonyi) and A.D. Olusegun Aiyajina (Edo).

Also nominated are: Ejike Ezeh (Enugu), Hon. Abubakar Mohammed Danburam (Gombe), Prof. Uba S.F. Nnabue (Imo), Dr. Abdulmalik Mohammed Durunguwa (Kaduna), Sulaiman Ismaila Lawal (Kano), Prof. Jimoh Habibat Isah (Kogi), Dr Sa'adu Ayinla Alanamu (Kwara), Nasir Isa kwarra (Nasarawa).

Others are: Barrister Aliyu Datti (Niger), Seyi Adererinokun Olusanya (Ogun), Prince Oladiran Garvey Iyantan (Ondo), Senator Mudashiru Oyetunde Hussain (Osun), Cecilia Arsun Dapoet (Plateau), Dr Ipalibo Macdonald Harry (Rivers), Sale S. Saany (Taraba).

The two non-legal practitioners are Abba Ali (Katsina-North west) and Mohammed Sagir (Niger-North central).

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.