Bolaji Abdullahi, who resigned as the national publicity secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) last week, has been appointed as the head of the Media and Publicity committee of the Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP).

Abdullahi resigned his APC membership on Tuesday, July 31, 2018, noting that the ruling party made his position untenable with a host of reasons.

During the official opening of the CUPP secretariat on Thursday, August 2, the coalition inaugurated several committees in its bid to seize the presidency from the ruling APC in the 2019 presidential election.

The media and publicity committee also includes Kazeem Afegbua, the spokesperson of former military head of state, Ibrahim Babangida and national publicity secretary of the People's Democratic Party (PDP), Kola Ologbondiyan.

CUPP alliance

On July 9, 2018, dozens of political parties signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to oust the current administration of President Muhammadu Buhari of the ruling APC in the 2019 presidential election.

According to the terms of the MoU, the alliance has resolved to back a single presidential candidate to oust Buhari.

The coalition promised a unity government with a joint manifesto that will usher in great governance never before seen in the country.

At the Thursday opening, the CUPP inaugurated a 17-member steering committee to coordinate the activities of the grand alliance.

Buba Galadima, Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Tunde Adeniran, Abdulkadir Abdulsalam, Ben Obi, Peter Ameh, Sam Eke, Jeff Ojinka are members of the committee.

Others are Igwe Emeka Benjamin, Hon. Razak Eyiowuawi, Odion Okpebholo, Abduljalili Tafawa Balewa, Tanko Yunusa, Olusegun Peters, Georgina Danagogo, Ikenga Ugochinyere and Mark Adebayo.

Other key committees created by the CUPP include the Blueprint/Manifesto Committee, Strategy Committee and the Contact/Mobilization Committee.