APC appoints Gov Abiodun as chairman of Anambra primary election committee

The primary election will hold on Saturday, June 26.

Ogun state Governor, Dapo Abiodun. [Twitter/@dapoabiodun]

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has appointed Gov. Dapo Abiodun of Ogun as chairman of its primary election committee for the Nov. 6, Anambra governorship election.

Sen. John Akpanudoedehe, National Secretary, APC Caretaker and Extra-ordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC), said this in a statement on Wednesday in Abuja.

The primary election will hold on Saturday, June 26.

Akpanudoedehe listed members of the committee to include Mr Uba Ahmadu, Mr Goodluck Opiah, Ms Cathleen Nwofor, Alhaji Shitu Muhammed and Mr Sylvester Imohanobe, while Sen. John Enoh would serve as the secretary.

He said the seven-member committee would be expected to conduct the primary election for the party’s candidate for the Nov. 6 Anambra governorship election.

He said the election must be done in line with the provisions of the APC Constitution and electoral guidelines for the election of electoral candidates.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that 14 aspirants were expected to feature at primary election.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng

Recommended articles

Bauchi govt begins headcount of commercial sex workers

Blue Bus Frontliners: The inside story of rehabilitating victims of human trafficking in Nigeria

Kano govt to file fresh charge against Muslim cleric accused of blasphemy

Police refutes abduction of 60 travelers on Gusau-Sokoto highway

Heavy downpour claims 2 lives, damages 1,500 houses in Katsina

Akeredolu retains Ondo Governor's seat after close Supreme Court verdict

YABATECH ranked best polytechnic in Nigeria

UTME: JAMB releases more results; lists names of candidates whose results have been withdrawn

End of the road for Jegede as Supreme Court upholds Akeredolu’s election