Pulse.ng logo

Abdulfatah Ahmed Gov dissolves 16 LG councils in Kwara State

The management of 16 local government councils in Kwara State have been dissolved by Gov Abdulfatah Ahmed.

  • Published:

Gov Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara on Friday approved the dissolution of the management of the 16 local government councils in the state.

The dissolution was announced by the Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Alhaji lsiaka Gold, in a statement issued in Ilorin.

Gold explained that the tenure of the affected councillors expires this November.

The dissolved councils are Asa, Baruten, Edu, Ekiti, Ifelodun, Ilorin East, Ilorin West, Ilorin South, Irepodun, Isin, Kaiama, Moro, Offa, Oke-Ero, Oyun and Pategi.

He said that the dissolution of the councils was in conformity with the Kwara State Legal Notices No.4-19.

The scribe added that it is in exercise of the governor’s power conferred on the Governor by Section 18(5) (c) of the Kwara State Local Government Law (as amended), Cap K33, Laws of Kwara State.

He added that the dissolution took effect from Friday, Nov. 4.

The government directed all the affected public office holders, including the Chairmen, Vice Chairmen, Councillors, Secretaries to the Local Government Councils and Supervisors, to immediately vacate their offices.

They were also directed to handover to their respective Directors of Personnel Management (DPMs).

The SSG said the governor appreciated the contributions and support of the affected officers towards the development of the state and wishes them success in their future endeavours.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.