Statistics obtained from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has revealed that the northwest geopolitical zone has the highest number of registered voters in the country while the southeast zone has the lowest.

According to the statistics released by The Punch, out of a total of 73,944,312 registered voters across Nigeria, as of January 2018, the northwest currently has a total of 18,505,984 voters while the southeast has 8,293,093.

The statistics for the other zones show that the south west has the second highest number of registered voters with 14,626,800, while the south south comes close to it with 11,101,093 registered voters.

In the other two zones, the north central has 10,586,965 registered voters, while the north east zone has 9,929,015.

Lagos State has the highest amount of voters with 6,048,156, while Bayelsa State ranks lowest with 754,394.

Despite the high allocation in Lagos, INEC reports that there are over 1.4 million Permanent Voter's Cards that have not been collected. Nationwide, less than half of the registered voters have collected their PVCs.

Since INEC's Continuous Voter Registration started in April 2017, over 5,110,836 Nigerians (as of January 2018) have registered to join the 68,833,476 voters registered for the 2015 general elections.

INEC projects that the number of registered voters might reach 80 million before the December 2018 deadline for voter registration.

Timetable for 2019 general elections

In the official timetable for the 2019 general elections released by INEC, February 16, 2019 has been set for the presidential elections with the elections for the National Assembly also taking place on the same day.

The elections for state governors, state assembly representatives, and council representatives will take place on March 2, 2019.

The commission also announced that election campaigns for all political parties and candidates seeking to contest for the Presidential and National Assemblies will commence on November 18, 2018 and end on February 14, 2019.

Political parties and candidates seeking to contest for Governorship and State Assembly elections will commence campaigns on December 1, 2018 and end on February 28, 2019.

Collections of forms for all elections by political parties at the INEC headquarters in Abuja will commence on August 17, 2018 and end on August 24, 2018 while all party primaries and resolution that might arise as a result of disagreement of primary elections should commence between August 18, 2018 and end on October 7, 2018.