State civil servants have been thrown into panic due to stories regarding the non-payment of their pension contribution by their employers.

According to reports, the governments and workers of states such as Kebbi, Ondo, Cross River, Osun, Niger, Akwa Ibom and Ekiti states have stopped because of issues regarding the implementation of the Pension Reform Act, 2014.

Other states involves are Imo, Sokoto, Lagos, Rivers, Abia, Bauchi, Plateau, Edo and Niger states.

READ: Government sets guidelines for infrastructural development investment

The Chairman of the Nigeria Labour Congress in Osun State, Mr. Jacob Adekomi, confirmed that the state government had yet to implement the PRA 2014, because remittances based on the 2004 Act had stopped.

Lana said, “Osun domesticated the 2004 Pension Reform Act in 2008 but the actual implementation of the pension law started in May 2010. The 2014 PRA has not been implemented. Our concern now is that the law with lesser percentage of contribution was not implemented, will the government implement this one with greater obligation for it?”

This development will understandably put a lot of workers in a restless state as soon as retirement approaches.