Pulse.ng logo

Suleiman Galadima NJC appoints new judge to lead monitoring of corruption cases

Galadima and the rest of the committee will be inaugurated on Wednesday, November 1.

  • Published:
Justice Suleiman Galadima play

Justice Suleiman Galadima

(The Nigeria Lawyer)

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has announced the appointment of Justice Suleiman Galadima as the new chairman of the Corruption and Financial Crime Cases Trial Monitoring Committee (COTRIMCO).

The appointment of the retired justice of the supreme court comes on the heel of Justice Ayo Salami's rejection of the role due to personal reasons.

The appointment was announced in a statement by the NJC's Director of Information, Soji Oye, on Tuesday, October 31.

Oye also disclosed that Galadima will be inaugurated, alongside other committee members, by Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Walter Onnoghen on Wednesday, November 1.

The statement read, "The National Judicial Council under the chairmanship of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Hon. Mr. Justice Walter Nkanu Onnoghen, GCON, has picked a retired Justice of the Supreme Court, Hon. Justice Mr. Suleiman Galadima, CFR, as the new chairman of the Corruption and Financial Crime Cases Trial Monitoring Committee.

"He is to replace Hon. Justice Mr. Ayo Salami (retired) who excused himself from the committee as the chairman, after initially accepting to serve.

"The committee will be inaugurated tomorrow, Wednesday, November 1st, 2017 by Hon. Justice Mr. Onnoghen, at the Council’s Conference Hall by 2pm."

Justice Galadima worked his way up from the Anambra State Judiciary as Magistrate through to the Court of Appeal and finally to the Supreme Court of Nigeria where he retired on October 10, 2016, at the mandatory retirement age of 70 years.

Justice Ayo Salami play Justice Salami turned down the appointment that paved the way for Justice Galadima to be chosen (The Guardian)


Other members of the committee include Chief Judge of Borno state, Justice Kashim Zannah; the Chief Judge of Imo state, Justice P.O. Nnadi; the Chief Judge of Delta state, Justice Marsahal Umukoro; the Chief Judge of Oyo state, Justice M. L. Abimbola; President of the Nigerian Bar Association, Abubakar Mahmoud (SAN); former NBA President, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN); and another former NBA president, Mr. Olisa Agbakoba (SAN).

Others are former NBA presidents Mr. Joseph Daudu (SAN) and Mr. Augustine Alegeh (SAN); NJC members, Dr. Garba Tetengi (SAN) and Mrs. R.I Inga; NJC Secretary, Gambo Saleh; representative of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs), Olanrewaju Suraju; representative of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN), Alhaji Kabiru Alkali Mohammed; and representative of the Ministry of Justice, Mrs. Hajara Yusuf.

ALSO READ: EFCC lauds CJN's move to prioritise corruption cases in courts

The committee is charged with conducting regular monitoring and evaluation of proceedings at designated courts for financial and economic crimes throughout the country.

Onnoghen directed  all heads of courts to compile and forward comprehensive lists of corruption and financial crime cases before them to National Judicial Council (NJC).

He said where such cases came on appeal to the Court of Appeal or the Supreme Court, special dates should be fixed for them every week.

He also directed heads of courts to clamp down on both prosecution and defence counsel who indulged in delay tactics to stall criminal trials.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.