Pulse.ng logo

National Honours Award Committee inauguration

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Engr Babachir David Lawal says the newly reconstituted Committee on National Honours Award is saddled with the responsibility of selecting the best.

  • Published:
R-L  Rt. Hon. Gideon N. Samari (SSAP) Political,Amb.   O.A.Bamgbose P.S Political OSGF, His Excellency Engr. B.D. Lawal (SGF),   S.M.A. Belgore, U.A. Kalgo, Mrs. Phyllis Nwokede, Ibrahim Bapetel Hassan   and Mrs. Ras play

R-L  Rt. Hon. Gideon N. Samari (SSAP) Political,Amb.   O.A.Bamgbose P.S Political OSGF, His Excellency Engr. B.D. Lawal (SGF),   S.M.A. Belgore, U.A. Kalgo, Mrs. Phyllis Nwokede, Ibrahim Bapetel Hassan   and Mrs. Ras


A statement issued by Bolaji Adebisi, Director of Press in the office of the SGF on Wednesday, 20 April 2016, says members were reminded that the national award has two purposes;  to recognize and honour citizens and friends of Nigeria who have distinguished themselves in their various endeavours and contributed immensely to the development of the nation. 

"Also, this recognition is intended to serve as motivation for all Nigerians to emulate the exemplary conduct and services of those being honoured and inspire them for such national recognition."

The SGF reiterated that for the national award to retain the prestige that it is accorded, recipients who conduct themselves in any dishonorable manner will be stripped of the national honour.  This, he stressed, “will be consistent with the stand of the present administration against all forms of corruption," Adebisi said in the statement.

The SGF assured that the combined investiture ceremony for the 2015 and 2016 National Honours Award will be held this year.

The Chairman of the newly inaugurated committee, former Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Alfa Belgore expressed the appreciation of all members of the committee for the honour of appointing them and pledged that the committee will not disappoint the nation.

He said Nigeria is a great country and that bestowing honour on any Nigerian in any grade must be acknowledged as a great national achievement and promised that the committee will strive at all times to select the best for the National Honours.

Other members of the reconstituted committee include:

Hon. Justice Mohammed Alfa Belgore (Rtd), GCON  
Chairman, Hon. Justice Umaru Kalgo (Rtd),
CFR- Member, Hon. Justice Isaac Aluyi (Rtd)
Member,Mrs.Bola Ogunriade,MNI
Member, Nnema Josephine Ndukwu                                                    
Member, Amb. Usman Gaji Galtimari, CON
Member, and Chief Bassey Edem, MFR
Member, Engineer Gabriel Afu
Member, Ambassador Nonye Udo
Member, Mr. M. F. Abikoye
Member, Mr. Y. M. Bichi
Member, Mrs. Rasheedat Okoduwa, MNI
Member, Mr. James A. Ibidapo                
Member, and Mr. Gabriel Loto
who will serve as secretary

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.