FG fires striking Resident Doctors, orders immediate replacement

The medical doctors were said to have voluntarily withdrawn from the Residency Training Programme.

Protesting resident doctors (Illustration).

The federal government on Tuesday, June 21, 2016 ordered the sack of all Resident Doctors who have voluntarily withdrawn from the Residency Training Programme.

The Minister of Health, Prof Isaac Adewole directed the Chief Medical Directors (CMDs) and Medical Director (MDs) of Federal Government Tertiary Health Institutions to fill the vacancies created by Resident Doctors who have abandoned their training programme

The directive was contained in a circular signed by the Permanent Secretary of the ministry, Dr Amina Shamaki and sent to the CMDs and MDs of the Federal Tertiary Health Institutions.

The Circular read:"It has come to the notice of the Management of the Ministry that some Resident Doctors in your establishment have voluntarily withdrawn from the Residency Training Program by refusing to report for training without authorization. Public Service Rule, PSR 030402 (e) is relevant. This is in spite of the ongoing negotiations on their demands put forward by the representatives of the (NARD) under the auspices of the .

"In view of this development, you are hereby directed to replace all the Doctors that have withdrawn their services, with others from the pool of applicants for the training programs in the various disciplines in order not to create ominous gap in training with attendant disruption of health care delivery in your facility.

"Meanwhile, the Ministry is working with the panel on the review of the Residency Training Program in Nigeria, led by Professor , the Registrar of the National Postgraduate Medical College, to fast-track the development of a comprehensive blueprint for postgraduate training of doctors in the country.Please, ensure immediate compliance."

The  doctors were said to have continued with the strike despite the one-week suspension ordered by the NARD president, Muhammad Askira after a meeting with Speaker,  on Wednesday, June 8, 2016.

Meanwhile, the Borno State chapter of the association has denied participating in a nationwide strike planned to commence today, June 21, 2016.


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng

Recommended articles

NCC begins review of telecoms license structure

FG remains committed to lifting Nigerians out of poverty

Africa's COVID-19 cases exceed 5 million, says WHO

Uzodimma introduces Insurance policy for police officers in Imo

NPHCDA says Nigeria will get 3.92 million COVID-19 vaccine doses soon

Imo govt set to rehabilitate abandoned shoe factory

Dangote Foundation disburses N200m to empower 20,000 women in Bauchi

Gov Sanwo-Olu inaugurates Yaba Bus Terminal

EFCC has $20 million in its cryptocurrency wallet