The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) decided to freeze the bank accounts of numerous #EndSARS campaigners because of suspected terrorism financing.

Hundreds of Nigerians had peacefully protested in many states across the country in October to demand an end to years of wanton police brutality.

Many of the campaigners for the demonstrations raised funds to bankroll sustenance, medical emergencies, and legal aid for the protesters.

The CBN froze the accounts of 20 such campaigners in October, before securing a court order earlier in November to back the action many have criticised as arbitrary.

Hundreds of Nigerians protested nationwide against police brutality in October
Hundreds of Nigerians protested nationwide against police brutality in October

In an ex parte order filed before a Federal High Court in Abuja, CBN said in a written address that the nature of the transactions are of suspected terrorism financing.

The apex bank noted that this was in contravention of the nation's extant laws and regulations, according to a report by The Punch.

The CBN argued that the transactions can cause significant economic and security harm to the country if left unchecked.

"The applicant (CBN governor) is thus desirous to have the court empower him to direct the freezing of the 20 accounts listed on the annexure to this application and all other bank accounts held by the defendant," the application urged the court.

CBN said the freezing order would enable it conduct investigations into the activities of the defendants who will be unable to move funds out of the accounts.

Justice Ahmed Mohammed granted the order on November 5, 2020, over two weeks after the application was filed.

The banks ordered to freeze the accounts of the #EndSARS campaigners are Access Bank, Fidelity Bank, First Bank, Guaranty Trust Bank (GTB), Zenith Bank, and United Bank for Africa (UBA).

Below is a full list of account owners blocked as a result of the court order:

  1. Bolatito Rachael Oduala
  2. Chima David Ibebunjoh
  3. Mary Doose Kpengwa
  4. Gatefield Nigeria Limited
  5. Saadat Temitope Bibi
  6. Bassey Victor Israel
  7. Wisdom Busaosowo Obi
  8. Nicholas Ikhalea Osazele
  9. Ebere Idibie
  10. Akintomide Lanre Yusuf
  11. Uhuo Ezenwanyi Promise
  12. Mosopefoluwa Odeseye
  13. Adegoke Pamilerin Emmanuel
  14. Umoh Grace Ekanem
  15. Babatunde Victor Segun
  16. Mulu Louis Teghenan
  17. Mary Oshifowora
  18. Winifred Akpevweoghene Jacob
  19. Victor Solomon
  20. Idunu A. Williams.