Pulse.ng logo

Emefiele, Adeosun Reps call for CBN Gov, Minister's resignation

An ad-hoc committee at the House of Rep has called on Nigerians to demand the resignation of Kemi Adeosun and Godwin Emefiele.

  • Published:

Lawmakers at the House of Representatives have called for the resignation of Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun and CBN Governor, Godwin Emefiele.

According to a report by Daily Trust, a House of Representatives panel called on Nigerians to demand for the resignation of the economy's finance heads fpr allegedly mismanaging the country's wealth.

The call was made on Thursday, November 3, 2016 by Honourable Sadiq Ibrahim, the Chairman of the ad-hoc committee set up to investigate the N700 billion bail-out funds given to some state governments by the federal government,

The Adamawa rep member reportedly  made the call following failure of Adeosun and Emefiele to personally appear at the committee’s session.

Director General of the Debt Management Office (DMO), Abraham Nwankwo, was also fingered as another figure who should resign his appointment for failure to dutifully discharge his duties. 

Speaking on the call, Sadiq Ibrahim said: The attitudes of these top government officials show who is mismanaging the economy of the country. Nigerians should rise up and call for their resignation immediately.”

The lawmaker further said: “If it is to bring virement, they would rush down, but now that they are to come and explain to Nigerians how the bail-out fund running into over N700bn was disbursed, they are sending representatives; they are only interested in borrowing. This has to stop.

ALSO READ: Protesters call for CBN governor's resignation in Abuja

The committee however directed Adeosun, Emefiele and Nwankwo to physically appear before it and provide all relevant documents on the bailout funds.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.