Winner of 2015 Caine Prize to share money with runners up

Zambian author, Namwali Serpell, who won the Caine Prize literary award, has said that she would share her cash prize with runners up.

Serpell beat 4 other writers, including two Nigerians; Elnathan John and Segun Afolabi

Zambian author, Namwali Serpell, who , has promised to share her £10,000 ($15,600) cash prize  with the four runners up..

Serpell won the prize for her story 'The Sack', beating 4 other writers, including two Nigerians; Elnathan John and Segun Afolabi, to emerge the winner.

The judges described her action as "innovative, stylistically stunning, haunting and enigmatic".

Speaking about her decision, Serpell described her action to BBC Newsday as "an act of mutiny".

"I wanted to change the structure of the prize". she said.

"It is very awkward to be placed into this position of competition with other writers that you respect immensely and you feel yourself put into a sort of American idol or race-horse situation when actually, you all want to support each other."

Previous Nigerian winners of the prize are: Helon Habila (2001), Segun Afolabi (2005), E.C. Osondu (2009), Rotimi Babatunde (2012) and Tope Folarin (2013).


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:


Recommended articles

Wizkid took his friends to dinner and spent N3.6M

Odion Ighalo's estranged wife Sonia congratulates him on the arrival of his child from another woman

Tope Alabi apologises to fellow gospel singer Adeyinka Alaseyori following the criticism of her record

'You had no kobo na package we dey package' - Iyabo Ojo's ex PA says as they drag each other on Instagram

BBNaija Reunion: Dorathy denies feelings for Ozo + all the highlights you probably missed

Married woman and illicit lover get stuck after sex until her husband arrives (Watch)

Iyabo Ojo calls out her bestie Omo Brish on IG for throwing shades at her

Dangote truck set ablaze after crushing 2 to death in Ogun

African gods: Nne Miri and Onabuluwa the progenitors of the Ogbanje spirit