Pulse.ng logo

Wizkid, Davido, Tiwa Savage MOBO 2014 Awards Announce Nominees

The nominees for the 2014 MOBO Awards have been announced! Of special interest is the Best African Act category. Afrikan Boy, Davido, DJ Clock, Dr Sid, Fuse ODG, Mafikozolo, Tiwa Savage, Wizkid, Yemi Alade and Mista Silva are all competing for the prize!

  • Published: , Refreshed:
  play Wizkid and Davido have both been nominated for the Best African act category. (Filed)
play he MOBO 2014 Awards will hold in London at the SSE Arena, Wembley on 22 October.

The nominees for the the 2014 MOBO Awards have been announced and Nigerian acts, Davido, Wizkid, Dr SID, Tiwa Savage and Yemi Alade have been nominated in the Best African Act category.

Other acts also nominated include Ghana’s Fuse ODG, who won the gong last year, South African duo Mafikizolo, Mista Silva and DJ Clock, who have all had a stellar year in review.

Davido's dream year continues with this nomination, after he recently got five mentions at the Channel O Africa Music Video Awards, and MTV Europe Music Awards.

Other categories with Africans nominated include the Best Male Act, where Fuse ODG is battling with Sam Smith, Krept & Konan, Tinie Tempah, and Ghetts. Fuse’s collaboration with international dancehall star, Sean Paul, on the song “Dangerous Love” is also in contention for the Best Song award.

The MOBO 2014 Awards will hold in London at the SSE Arena, Wembley on 22 October. Check out the complete list of nominees.

Check out the full list of nominees:

MOBO Best Male Act
Fuse ODG
Krept & Konan
Sam Smith
Tinie Tempah

MOBO Best Female Act
FKA Twigs
Jessie J
Katy B
Marsha Ambrosius
Rita Ora

MOBO Best Newcomer
Ella Eyre
FKA Twigs
Jess Glynne
Little Simz
Melissa Steel
Meridian Dan
Raleigh Ritchie

MOBO Best International Act
Chris Brown
Iggy Azalea
J Cole
Jhene Aiko
Kendrick Lamar
Nicki Minaj
Trey Songz

MOBO Best Song
Ed Sheeran ft. Pharrell, “Sing”
Fuse ODG ft. Sean Paul, “Dangerous Love”
Krept & Konan, “Don’t Waste My Time”
Meridian Dan ft. Big H & JME, “German Whip”
Sam Smith, “Stay With Me”

MOBO Best Video
FKA Twigs, “Two Weeks”
Jacob Banks, “Move With You”
Rudimental ft. Becky Hill, “Powerless”
Scorcher ft. Wretch 32, Mercston & Ari, “Work Get It”
Skepta ft. JME, “That’s Not Me”

MOBO Best Album
Ghetts, Rebel With A Cause
Katy B, Little Red
Krept & Konan, Young Kingz
Sam Smith, In The Lonely Hour
Tinie Tempah, Demonstration

MOBO Best Gospel Act
Annastasia Baker
J. Vessel
Kristyna Myles
Living Faith Connection Choir
Noel Robinson

MOBO Best Reggae Act
Stylo G
Tarrus Riley

MOBO Best Jazz Act
Andreas Varady
Jason Rebello
Peter Edwards
Zara McFarlane

MOBO Best Hip Hop Act
Krept & Konan
Professor Green
Tinie Tempah

MOBO Best African Act
Afrikan Boy
DJ Clock
Dr Sid
Fuse ODG
Mista Silva
Tiwa Savage
Yemi Alade

MOBO Best Grime Act
Big Narstie
Lethal Bizzle
Meridian Dan

MOBO Best R&B / Soul Act
Jessie Ware
Marsha Ambrosius
Sam Smith

To vote for your favourite artiste, visit  mobo.com/voting

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.