Pulse.ng logo

'Empire' Show wins 'Program of the year' at 2015 TCA Awards

FOX's hit TV series 'Empire' has beat HBO’s 'Game of Thrones', AMC’s 'Mad Men' to win TCA Awards' 'Program of the Year.'

  • Published: , Refreshed:
Cast of FOX hit series 'Empire' play

Cast of FOX hit series 'Empire'

Fox hip-hop drama 'Empire' which failed to receive an EMMY nomination, won the much desired 'Program of the Year' award from the Television Critics Association.

The record breaking series bested hits series like HBO’s 'Game of Thrones' and AMC’s 'Mad Men' to win the coveted price.


'Empire' stars Terrence Howard, Taraji P. Henson, Jussie Smollett, Grace Gealey, Ta’Rhonda Jones, Kaitlin Doubleday, Bryshere Y. Gray among others, and will return for its second season on September 23, 2015.

Check out full list of winners at the 2015 and 31st edition of the  Television Critics Association awards;

Program of the Year:

 “Empire” (Fox)

Individual Achievement in Drama:

 Jon Hamm (“Mad Men,” AMC)

Individual Achievement in Comedy:

Amy Schumer (“Inside Amy Schumer,” Comedy Central)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information:

 “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Reality Programming:

 “The Chair” (Starz)

Outstanding Achievement in Youth Programming:

 “The Fosters” (ABC Family)

Outstanding New Program: “Better Call Saul” (AMC)

Outstanding Achievement in Movies, Miniseries and Specials:

 “The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst” (HBO)

Outstanding Achievement in Drama:

“The Americans” (FX)

Outstanding Achievement in Comedy:

“Inside Amy Schumer” (Comedy Central)

Career Achievement Award:

 James L. Brooks

Heritage Award:

 “Late Show/Late Night with David Letterman” (CBS/NBC)

Watch trailer for second season of 'Empire';

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.