Pulse.ng logo

Chiwetel Ejiofor Actor to receive 'Richard Harris Award' at 2016 BIFAs

Chiwetel Ejiofor will receive the Richard Harris prize at the upcoming BIFAs in December.

  • Published:
Chiwetel Ejiofor play

Chiwetel Ejiofor

(Jordan Strauss-Invision-AP)

"12 Years A Slave" actor, Chiwetel Ejiofor,  will receive this year’s British Independent Film Awards’ Richard Harris Award.

The award which was introduced in 2002 in honor of the legendary Richard Harris, is usually given in recognition of outstanding contribution to British film by an actor.

Chiwetel Ejiofor play

Chiwetel Ejiofor

(AP Images)


The actor will receive the award for his exceptional service to the film industry on December 6, during the ceremony.

Previous winners include John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, Helena Bonham Carter, Ralph Fiennes, Michael Gambon, Julie Walters and Emma Thompson.

Benedict Cumberbatch and Chiwetel Ejiofor in '12 Years A Slave' play

Benedict Cumberbatch and Chiwetel Ejiofor in '12 Years A Slave'

(Daily Mail)


Chiwetel has featured in productions like "Amistad," "Dirty Pretty Things", "Love Actually " and "Twelve Years A Slave,"  "The Martian"  and "Secret In Their Eyes" among others.

Ejiofor received an Oscar nomination and won a BAFTA in 2013 for his performance in ‘12 Years A Slave.’

The actor who made his acting debit in Steven Spielberg's ‘Amistad, was recently made a Commander of the order of the British Empire by Duke of Cambridge, Prince William, during an official ceremony held at Buckingham Palace in London on Tuesday, October 26, 2015.

Watch actor in below trailer;

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.