'The Lobster' ‘Macbeth,’ ‘45 Years’ lead nominees list

Comic romantic fantasy 'The Lobster,' topped the British Independent Film Awards nominee list, with seven nominations.


The nominations for this year's Moët British Independent Film Awards were announced this morning by Gemma Chan and Thomas Brodie Sangster.

From 'Macbeth' to 'The Lobster,' check out full list of nominees;

Best British Independent Film


“Ex Machina”

“45 Years”

“The Lobster”


Best Director

Asif Kapadia, “Amy”

Alex Garland, “Ex Machina”

Andrew Haigh, “45 Years”

Yorgos Lanthimos, “The Lobster”

Justin Kurzel, “Macbeth”

Best Actor

Tom Courtenay, “45 Years”

Colin Farrell, “The Lobster”

Michael Fassbender, “Macbeth”

Tom Hardy, “Legend”

Tom Hiddleston, “High-Rise”

Best Actress

Marion Cotillard, “Macbeth”

Carey Mulligan, “Suffragette”

Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years”

Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn”

Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl”

Best Supporting Actor

Luke Evans, “High-Rise”

Brendan Gleeson, “Suffragette”

Domhnall Gleeson, “Brooklyn”

Sean Harris, “Macbeth”

Ben Whishaw, “The Lobster”

Best Supporting Actress

Helena Bonham Carter, “Suffragette”

Olivia Colman, “The Lobster”

Anne-Marie Duff, “Suffragette”

Sienna Miller, “High-Rise”

Julie Walters, “Brooklyn”

Best Screenplay

Nick Hornby, “Brooklyn”

Alex Garland, “Ex Machina”

Andrew Haigh, “45 Years”

Amy Jump, “High-Rise”

Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou, “The Lobster”

Best Foreign Independent Film


“Force Majeure”



“Son of Saul”

Best Debut Director (Douglas Hickox Award)

Chris and Ben Blaine, “Nina Forever”

Corin Hardy, “The Hallow”

Paul Katis, “Kajaki: The True Story”

John Maclean, “Slow West”

Stephen Fingleton, “The Survivalist”

Best Achievement in Craft

Chris King (editing), “Amy”

Fiona Weir (casting), “Brooklyn”

Mark Digby (production design), “Ex Machina”

Andrew Whitehurst (visual effects), “Ex Machina”

Adam Arkapaw (cinematography), “Macbeth”

Best Documentary


“Dark Horse: The Incredible True Story of Dream Alliance”

“How to Change the World”


“A Syrian Love Story”

Most Promising Newcomer

Agyness Dean, “Sunset Song”

Mia Goth, “The Survivalist”

Abigail Hardingham, “Nina Forever”

Milo Parker, “Mr. Holmes”

Bel Powley, “A Royal Night Out”

Producer of the Year

James Gay-Rees, “Amy”

Tristan Goligher, “45 Years”

Paul Katis and Andrew De Lotbiniere, “Kajaki: The True Story”

Ceci Dempsey, Ed Guiney, Yorgos Lanthimos and Lee Magiday, “The Lobster”

David A. Hughes and David Moores, “The Violators”

Raindance Discovery Award


“Burn Burn Burn”

“Orion: The Man Who Would Be King”

“The Return”


Best Short Film




“Love is Blind”


Watch the trailer for 'Macbeth;'


Eyewitness? Submit your stories now via social or:

Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng

Recommended articles

Fetty Wap cries over the loss of daughter in emotional video

Some people will stab you in the back for a meal- Kate Henshaw on Nollywood industry

'Nneka the Pretty Serpent' reboot gets Netflix release date

'Most single men in Ghana are broke, the rich ones are married' - Michael Blackson

'My fans na to beg me money morning till night' - Yul Edochie reacts to Prince's N10M gift from fans

BBNaija 2021: My husband and I have an understanding - Tega on truth or dare game with Saga

Actress Sola Sobowale celebrates twin daughters on their birthday

Nigerian Singer, Koller delivers riveting new tune, 'Ogo (Glory)'

'Burna Boy isn't the first afrobeat act to sell out Apollo, I did it before him' - Sarkodie