Pulse.ng logo

AMAA 2017 Akin Omotoso, Nkem Owoh, "76" among winners

Check out the full list of the 2017 African Movie Academy Award winners.

  • Published: , Refreshed:
AMAA 2017 play

AMAA 2017

The 13th African Movie Academy Awards ceremony took place on July 15, 2017.

The event which was hosted by Nse Ikpe Etim held at the Eko Hotels, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Winners include Akin Omotoso, who won the best director award, Nkem Owoh who received the Lifetime Achievement Award, "76" which won the Lagos State Best Nigerian film award.

Jahwar Soudani's role in "Last Of Us" earned him the Award For Best Actress in a Leading Role.

Vero Tshanda beat Rita Dominic, Lupita Nyong'O, Bimbo Akintola, Zimkhitha Nyoka, Khabonina Quebeka, Josette Bushell-Mingo to win the Award For Best Actress in a Leading Role for her role in the movie, "Félicité."

"Felicite," which emerged the biggest winner of the night, won the AMAA 2017 Best Film.

Check out full list of winners.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Nkem Owoh

Best Short Film Category

"A Place For Myself" - Rwanda

"A Place in the Plane" - Senegal

Award For Best Animation

"Got Flowers" - Nigeria

Award For Best Documentary

"Mama Colonel" - Democratic Republic of Congo

Award For Best Film in an African Language

"Félicité" – Senegal

Award For Best Film by an African Living Abroad

"While We Live" - Burkina Faso/Sweden

Award For Achievement in Visual Effect

 "Wulu" - Mali

Achievement in Costume Design

"Queen of Katwe" - Uganda

Award For Best Diaspora Feature

"West Indies Gang" - Guadeloupe

Award For Achievement in Production Design

"76" - Nigeria

Award For Achievement in Make-Up

"Oloibiri" - Nigeria

Award For Achievement in Soundtrack

"Félicité" - Senegal

Award For Achievement in Sound

"Vaya" - South Africa

Award For Best Achievement in Cinematography

"The Last of Us" - Tunisia

Award For Achievement in Screenplay

"Vaya" - South Africa

Award For Achievement in Editing

"Félicité" - Senegal

Award For Best Diaspora Short

"Kbela" - Brazil

"90 Days" - United States of America

Award For Best Diaspora Documentary

"I Am Not Your Negro" - Haiti/France

"13th" - United States of America

"Les heritiers du Vietnam" - Vietnam

"Horace Tapscott, Musical Griot" - United States of America

Award For Best Film

"Félicité" - Senegal

Award For Best Director

Akin Omotosho - "Vaya"

Award For Best First Feature Film by a Director

"Wulu" - Daouda Coulibaly

Award For Best Actress in a Leading Role

Vero Tshanda - "Félicité"

Award For Best Actor in a Leading Role

Jahwar Soudani - "Last Of Us"

Award For Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Angelique Kidjo - "CEO"

Award For Best Actor in a Supporting Role

Papi Mpaka - "Félicité"

Award For Best Comedy

"Three Wise Men" - Nigeria

Lagos State Award For Best Nigerian Film


Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.