Pulse.ng logo

TETFund Naira Rain N.9 billion allocated to each Federal University in 2014

  • Published:
Minister of Education, Ibrahim Shekarau play

Minister of Education, Ibrahim Shekarau

Federal government owned universities in the country were allocated nearly one billion naira each in 2014 according to Education Minister, Ibrahim Shekarau.

Every Federal University got N912 million from the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) in 2014.

Nigeria's Minister of Education, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau, revealed this in Abuja at the public presentation of a document, 'Consolidating the Transformation in the Education Sector: A Strategy- July 2014-May 2015,' on Monday.

The Minister said the figures showed a marked increase from the N303 million allocated in 2010

He added that public polytechnics were allocated N661million each, as against N180m they got in in 2010 while public Colleges of Education received N581million, up from N157 million in 2010.

Shekarau also highlighted the positives of the education sector which has been criticized in recent times.

"Out of the 19 universities who won the World Bank grant for research, 10 are from Nigeria, and each of them is to receive $8million each,” he said.

"So how can anyone say nothing good is happening in Nigeria?"

He also called for more respect and incentives for those in the teaching profession.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.