Pulse.ng logo
Go

Know Your University Nigeria’s 59 private universities …locations, Vice Chancellors names, websites, dates of establishment

There are a total of 59 are privately-owned operating in the country, bringing the total of active/approved universities in Nigeria to 138. Here are their names, locations, website, Vice Chancellors and dates of establishment...

  • Published:
Nigeria’s 59 private universities … locations, Vice Chancellors names, websites, dates of establishment play

Nigeria’s 59 private universities … locations, Vice Chancellors names, websites, dates of establishment

(NUC)

With only 79 government owned (39 state and 40 federal) universities in Nigeria, private individual and organisations have had to make up for the shortfall by setting up their own institution.

Presently, there are a total of 59 are privately-owned operating in the country, bringing the total of active/approved universities in Nigeria to 138.

Today, in the third episode of the ‘Know Your University’ series, Student Pulse brings you trivia about these private universities;   their names, dates of establishment, websites, location and names of the Vice Chancellors in charge.

Based on the official listing on the website of the National Universities Commission (NUC), the series aims at arming Nigerians with information about the institutions they attend.

Here are the names, locations, website, Vice Chancellors and dates of establishment of all the 59 are privately-owned universities in Nigeria:

  1. Achievers University, Owo — Professor Tunji Samuel Ibiyemi — http://www.achievers.edu.ng — 2007

  2. Adeleke University, Ede — Prof. O.O.G Amusan — http://www.adelekeuniversity.edu.ng — 2011

  3. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti - Ekiti State — Professor M.O Ajisafe — http://www.abuad.edu.ng — 2009

  4. African University of Science & Technology, Abuja — Professor Charles Chidume (Ag) — http://aust-abuja.org — 2007

  5. Ajayi Crowther University, Ibadan — Prof. K.T. Jaiyeoba — http://www.acu.edu.ng — 2005

  6. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin — Professor S. A. Abdulkareem — https://www.alhikmah.edu.ng — 2005

  7. Al-Qalam University, Katsina — Prof. Shehu G. Ado — http://www.auk.edu.ng — 2005

  8. American University of Nigeria, Yola — Dr. Margee Ensign — http://www.aun.edu.ng — 2003

  9. Augustine University — nil — nil — 2015

  10. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo — Professor Kayode J. Makinde — http://www.babcock.edu.ng — 1999

  11. Baze University — Prof. Michael Hodd — http://www.bazeuniversity.edu.ng — 2011

  12. Bells University of Technology, Otta — Professor A. I. Adeyemi — http://www.bellsuniversity.org — 2005

  13. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City — Prof. Ernest B. Izevbigie — http://www.idahosauniversity.com — 2002

  14. Bingham University, New Karu — Professor F. I. Anjorin (Ag.) — http://www.binghamuni.edu.ng — 2005

  15. Bowen University, Iwo — Professor. Matthews Akintunde Ojo — http://www.bowenuniversity-edu.org         — 2001

  16. Caleb University, Lagos — Professor Ayodeji O. Olukoju — http://www.calebuniversity.edu.ng — 2007

  17. Caritas University, Enugu — Professor L. C. Onukwube — http://www.caritasuni.edu.ng/ — 2005

  18. CETEP City University, Lagos — Professor Akin Aju — http://www.cetepuniversity.com — 2005

  19. Chrisland University — nil — nil — 2015

  20. Christopher University — nil — nil — 2015

  21. Covenant University Ota — Prof. Charles Koredo Ayo — http://www.covenantuniversity.edu.ng/ — 2002

  22. Crawford University Igbesa — Prof. Samuel A. Ayanlaja — http://www.crawforduniversity.edu.ng — 2005

  23. Crescent University — Professor Sherifdeen A. Tella — http://www.crescent-university.edu.ng — 2005

  24. Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin — Prof. Valentine A. Aletor — http://www.elizadeuniversity.edu.ng — 2012

  25. Evangel University, Akaeze — Prof. C. Ike Umechuruba — nil — 2012

  26. Fountain Unveristy, Oshogbo — Prof. Bashir A.Raji — http://www.fountainuniversity.edu.ng — 2007

  27. Godfrey Okoye University, Ugwuomu-Nike - Enugu State — Professor (Revd.) C. Anieke — nil — 2009

  28. Gregory University, Uturu — Prof. Juliet Elu — http://www.gregoryuniversity.com — 2012

  29. Hallmark University — nil — nil — 2015

  30. Igbinedion University Okada — Professor (Revd.) Eghosa E. Osaghae — http://www.iuokada.edu.ng — 1999

  31. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji — Professor Sola Fajana — http://www.jabu.edu.ng — 2006

  32. Kings University — nil — nil — 2015

  33. Kwararafa University, Wukari — Professor Godwin Akpa — http://www.wukarijubileeuniversity.org — 2005

  34. Landmark University, Omu-Aran — Professor Mathew Ola-Rotimi Ajayi — http://www.lmu.edu.ng — 2011

  35. Lead City University, Ibadan — Prof. Olufemi Onobajo — http://www.lcu.edu.ng — 2005

  36. Madonna University, Okija — Prof. Chucks E.Ezedum — http://www.madonnauniversity.edu.ng — 1999

  37. Mcpherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo — Prof. Adeniyi Agunbiade — www.mcu.edu.ng — 2012

  38. Micheal & Cecilia University — nil — nil — 2015

  39. Mountain Top University — nil — nil — 2015

  40. Nigerian-Turkish Nile University, Abuja — Professor Huseyin Sert — http://www.ntnu.edu.ng — 2009

  41. Novena University, Ogume — Professor J. M. O. Eze Ag. — http://www.novenauniversity.edu.ng — 2005

  42. Obong University, Obong Ntak — Professor Enefiok S. Udo — http://www.obonguniversity.net — 2007

  43. Oduduwa University, Ipetumodu - Osun State — Prof. (Mrs) Olajumoke A. Olayiwola (Ag) — http://www.oduduwauniversity.edu.ng — 2009

  44. Pan-African University, Lagos — Professor Juan Manuel Elegido — http://www.pau.edu.ng — 2002

  45. Paul University, Awka - Anambra State — Professor G. Igboeli — http://www.pauluniversity.edu.ng — 2009

  46. Redeemer's University, Mowe — Professor Z. Debo Adeyewa — http://www.run.edu.ng — 2005

  47. Renaissance University, Enugu — Prof. Obiora S. Ejim — http://www.renaissanceuniversityng.com — 2005

  48. Rhema University, Obeama-Asa - Rivers State — Professor O. C. Onwudike — nil — 2009

  49. Ritman University — nil — nil — 2015

  50. Salem University, Lokoja — Prof. Joseph Adeola Fuwape — http://www.salemuniversity.org — 2007

  51. Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa — Prof. B.E. Aigbkhan — nil — 2011

  52. Southwestern University, Oku Owa — nil — nil — 2012

  53. Summit University — nil — nil — 2015

  54. Tansian University, Umunya — Professor C.B Iwuchukwu — http://www.tansian-edu.com — 2007

  55. University of Mkar, Mkar — Prof. Emmanuel Hemen Agba — http://www.unimkar.edu.ng — 2005

  56. Veritas University — Prof. David Ker — http://www.veritas.edu.ng — 2007

  57. Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa - Edo State — Professor J. E. A. Osemeikhian — http://www.wellspringuniversity.net — 2009

  58. Wesley Univ. of Science & Tech., Ondo — Professor 'Tade Badejo — http://www.wusto.edu.ng — 2007

  59. Western Delta University, Oghara — Professor P.G Hugbo — http://www.wduniversity.net — 2007

You can also read this article “Nigeria’s 40 Federal Universities’ …names, Vice Chancellors, websites, dates of establishment” and the second episode “List of Nigeria’s 39 state-owned universities with Vice Chancellors names, websites, dates of establishment.”

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.

X
Advertisement