Rugby World Cup RWC: New Zealand make one change for semi-final

New Zealand make one change for their Rugby World Cup semi-final clash with South Africa.

  • Published:
play (Omni Sport)
24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

Joe Moody replaces Wyatt Crockett as the only change to the New Zealand starting XV for Saturday's Rugby World Cup semi-final against South Africa.

Crockett picked up a groin injury as the All Blacks romped to a 62-13 victory over France at the Millennium Stadium last weekend, opening the door for Moody to come in at loosehead prop.

Nehe Milner-Skudder missed the second half in Cardiff with a shoulder complaint, but has recovered to take his place on the right wing for this weekend's Twickenham showdown.

Julian Savea will occupy the opposite wing to Milner-Skudder and will break the record for most tries in a single tournament should he touch down on Saturday - currently level with Jonah Lomu and Bryan Habana on eight.

"We've had a great preparation so far this week," said All Blacks coach Steve Hansen. "We've put a full stop on last weekend's performance and have been slowly building throughout the week to produce another game we can all be proud of.

"Though we've met many times over the years, we've only played three times at the Rugby World Cup and these Cup finals matches are totally different. They have a live-or-die nature to them and both teams will be desperate to advance.

"As a group we're really looking forward to this challenge. It will require a massive amount of intensity and composure and accurate skill execution. This team has high expectations of itself and enjoys the big occasions.

"We're all very much looking forward to Saturday. It's the fun part of the week where we get to express our skills, physicality and mental strength; all things we've been working really hard on this week."

The winner of Saturday's clash will meet Australia or Argentina in the final a week later.

New Zealand team: Ben Smith, Nehe Milner-Skudder, Conrad Smith, Ma'a Nonu, Julian Savea, Dan Carter, Aaron Smith; Joe Moody, Dane Coles, Owen Franks, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock, Jerome Kaino, Richie McCaw, Kieran Read.

Replacements: Keven Mealamu, Ben Franks, Charlie Faumuina, Victor Vito, Same Cane, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Beauden Barrett, Sonny Bill Williams.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: More information here.