Cricket Jadeja back in India Test squad for South Africa series

Ravindra Jadeja has been called up to the India Test squad for the first two matches with South Africa.

  • Published:
play (Omni Sport)
24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

Ravindra Jadeja has been called up to India's 16-man Test squad for the first two matches with South Africa.

The all-rounder has not played a five-day game for India since the fourth Test with England in August of 2014 and was left out of the side for the recent tours of Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

But he is contention to play in the first two of the four matches with the Proteas after replacing off-spinner Harbhajan Singh.

Ishant Sharma's suspension for the first game of the series, received after a confrontation with Sri Lanka's Dinesh Chandimal, has not prevented the fast bowler from being picked by the selectors.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is also included despite picking up a side strain in the first one-day international with South Africa eight days ago.

However, Ashwin has been left out of the squad for the final two matches of the one-day series, which South Africa lead 2-1 following an 18-run win in Rajkot on Sunday.

Sreenath Aravind has come into the 50-over squad in place of fast bowler Umesh Yadav, who posted figures of 2-71 and 1-52 in the opening two ODIs and was then left out of the third encounter.

The first Test begins in Mohali on November 5 following the conclusion of the ODI series.

South Africa, having already won the Twenty20 series, can seal 50-over triumph with victory on Thursday in Chennai.

India squad for first two Tests: Varun Aaron, Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli (captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Murali Vijay,

India squad for last two ODIs: Sreenath Aravind, Stuart Binny, Shikhar Dhawan, MS Dhoni (captain), Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Amit Mishra, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Mohit Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Gurkeerat Singh, Harbhajan Singh.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: More information here.