24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

The Legal Practitioners Privilege Committee has announced the elevation of 22 lawyers to the rank of Senior Advocates of Nigeria (SAN).

The Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Ahmed Saleh, said the new senior advocates were picked at the committee’s 123rd meeting held on July 4 in Abuja.

The new SANs were the Director-General of the Nigerian Law School, Olanrewaju Onadeko, and the Secretary of the 2014 National Conference, Valerie Azinge.

Others Nnamso Ekanem, Prof. Mohammed Tabiu, Olufunke Agbor, Olusola Ojutalayo, Richard Akintunde, Oyesoji Oyeleke, James Ikeyi, Elisha Kura, Adewunmi Ogunsanya, Olatubosun Olanipekun, Kalu Umeh and Adewale Adesokan.

The others were; Andrew Igboekwe, Fredson Okoli, Olaseni Adio, Olasheni Ibiwoye, Abdulakeem Mustapha, Uba ‎Ukweni, Edward Pwajok and Chukwu Omaka.

Saleh, who is also the Secretary of the Legal Practitioners Privileges Committee, said they would be inaugurated on Sept. 19.

He also said 131 lawyers applied for the conferment of the rank while 55 were shortlisted at the end of which 22 of them got the approval of the committee to move to the Inner Bar.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.