24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

The House of Representatives on Wednesday replaced the Appropriation Committee Chairman, Rep. Abdulmumuni Jibrin (APC-Kano), with Rep. Mustapha Dawaki (APC-Kano).

Speaker of the House, Mr Yakubu Dogara, announced Jibrin's replacement at the end of plenary.

Abdulmumin Jibrin play

Abdulmumin Jibrin

(Daily Trust)


According to the Speaker, Jibrin had earlier approached me to express his desire to discontinue as chairman of the Appropriation Committee.

Jibrin later told newsmen in Abuja that he decided to step aside on personal grounds.

However, the former appropriation chairman said it was a painful decision as he enjoyed the responsibilities.

He said that he would make the specifics leading to his decision to quit the position public.

Jibrin explained that throughout his service as chairman, House Committee on Finance, and later Appropriation, he was never found wanting of any wrong-doing.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Dawaki was until his new appointment the Chairman, House Committee on Housing.

NAN also reports that Dawaki is expected to start functioning immediately, as the Appropriation Committee is to engage with the Ministry of Finance on July 21, 2016.

Do you ever witness news or have a story that should be featured on Pulse Nigeria?
Submit your stories, pictures and videos to us now via WhatsApp: +2349055172167, Social Media @pulsenigeria247: #PulseEyewitness & DM or Email: eyewitness@pulse.ng. More information here.